CANADA
FRANCE
Saturday, 13 April 2024 09:20 PM EDT

Hello to all,

Report entitled: Study of marine turtles in Guadeloupe (1998)

To my parents, my beloved sister, her son born during my internship,
turtles and cetaceans of all oceans and seas

Introduction

Larine turtles have existed for millions of years in all the world's oceans, and particularly in tropical zones. As descendants of land tortoises, they have adapted very well to life in the water. Their legs have become flippers, and their bodies, originally massive, have taken on a hydrodynamic shape.
It's a papery animal, omnivorous in some species, quiet and harmless, never harming anyone and seeing no need to. Sea turtles are very slow and spend hours sleeping. But what threat can disturb them? if not the constraints of nature? Man.

Humans have always intervened in the natural cycle of things, despite the difficulty of natural selection. For many years now, the turtle has been hunted relentlessly and is in danger of disappearing if no action is taken. It's never too late.

This report explains the latest discoveries, methods and solutions for protecting and saving them.

During this internship at the Guadeloupe aquarium, I had to understand and study the different turtles of the West Indies. The aquarium was open to them, and I spent a lot of time with them. I was prepared to take a serious look at the sick turtles and rehabilitate them with the team, while working in the tanks and laboratory. And so it was.

Acknowledgements

I would like to thank

All the people in charge of the aquarium, who helped me discover a fascinating and unique job, in terms of both knowledge and human relations:

Mr Cuvillier Jean-Marie, Mrs Poittevin Sylvie, Mrs Atam - Kassigadou Valérie, Mrs Lyncée Sabine and Mrs Vrignaud Lydia.

And the members of the "Compagne des Bâteaux verts" society: Mr Liban Yvon-andré, Mrs Salerno Yvonne, Mrs Castillo Susana and Mr Rodomond Regy.

Internship report from July 1 to December 19, 1998

at the Guadeloupe Aquarium - Gosier - West Indies

Julien Marchal

Frequently asked questions

To better understand my activities and my missions.

All Reports

Return to the reports page.

Press

Discover the press articles about my work.

0:00
0:00

CANADA
FRANCE
Monday, 4 March 2024 02:20 AM EST

Bonjour à tous,

Rapport intitulé : Étude des tortues marines en Guadeloupe (1998)

A mes parents, ma soeur adorée, son fils né pendant mon stage,
les tortues et les cétacés de tous les océans et la mer

Introduction

Les tortues marines existent depuis des millions d’années dans tous les océans du monde et particulièrement dans les zones tropicales. En tant que descendantes des tortues terrestres, elles se sont fort bien adaptées à la vie aquatique. Les pattes se sont transformées en nageoires et le corps, massif à l’origine, a pris une forme hydrodynamique.
C’est un animal papisible, omnivore pour certaines espèces, tranquille et inoffensif, qui n’a jamais fait de mal à personne et n’en voit pas la nécessité. La tortue marine est très lente et passe des heures à dormir. Mais quelle menace peut les déranger ? si ce n’est les contraintes de la nature ? L’homme.

L’être humain est toujours intervenu dans le cycle naturel des choses en dépit d’une sélection naturelle difficile. Depuis de nombreuses années, la tortue connaît une chasse sans répit et menace de disparaître si aucune nsanction n’est mise en place.Heureusement, des personnes et des pays s’engagent à les protéger. Il n’est jamais trop tard.

Dans ce rapport, les dernières découvertes, méthodes et solutions envisagéespour les protéger et les sauver sont expliquées.

Lors de ce stage à l’aquarium de la Guadeloupe, je me devais de comprendre et étudier les différentes tortues des Antilles. L’aquarium était disposé à  les recevoir et je passia beaucoup de temps auprès d’elles. J’étais disposé à m’occuper sérieusement des tortues malades et de les réhabiliter avec l’équipe, tout en travaillant dans les bassins et le laboratoire. C’est ce qui a été fait.

Remerciements

Je voudrais remercier

Toutes les personnes responsables de l’aquarium qui m’ont fait découvrir un travail passionnant et unique autant sur le plan des connaissances que sur les relations humaines :

M. Cuvillier Jean-Marie, Mme Poittevin Sylvie, Mme Atam – Kassigadou Valérie, Mme Lyncée Sabine et Mme Vrignaud Lydia.

Ainsi que les membres de la société « Compagne des Bâteaux verts » : M. Liban Yvon-andré, Mme Salerno Yvonne, Mme Castillo Susana et M. Rodomond Regy.

Rapport de Stage du 1er juillet au 19 décembre 1998

à l’aquarium de la Guadeloupe  – Gosier – Antilles

Julien Marchal

Question fréquentes

Mieux cerner mes activités et mes missions.

Tous les Rapports

Retourner sur la page de l'ensemble des rapports.

Presse

Découvrir les articles de Presse sur mes travaux.

0:00
0:00